sir_octopie

Hatchling
Registered
Hello, fellow cephalopod lovers! I'm new here! C:

(First of all, a humongous thank you to this website and community! It has been beyond helpful so far with my research. Hugs to all of you!:hugs:)

I'm an animation student currently attending college. I'm based in the blazing city that might as well be on fire: Phoenix, AZ (our winters are thankfully mild, though :wink:).
I guess I should start by saying that I have a history with both freshwater and saltwater care, however, I've stuck with saltwater for the past 14 years or so. (I can thank my dad and his saltwater aquarium for that.) My first and still current set-up is a 55 gal reef tank, which unfortunately suffered a "tank crash"(?) earlier this year after the heater malfunctioned and basically cooked everything inside (save for a single 11 year old clownfish, who died about three weeks later). Current status of the tank is being cleaned and prepared for cycling. :mrgreen:
So where did my spark of interest for an octopus come from? Well, besides the octopus being my favorite animal, my dad owned a deadly greater blue-ringed octopus when I was little. I even helped him feed it--and by that, I mean I only helped pick out the doomed crab that was to be its meal and nothing else. We knew its venom was extremely lethal, so no hands from anyone were allowed in that tank.