• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Beginner Octopus Owner

Hello everyone I hope you are well. Me and my gf are looking into buying an Octopus. How much does it cost roughly to get started? Where could we find a store that sells them? We live in the Northern Central Wisconsin area. What do I need to know about caring for it? How often do you change the tank water? We are also starting from the ground up so how big of a tank do we need?

Okay. First thing Inneed to know ia do you have any experience in the aqaurium hobby? Then we can gonfrom there. I can walk you through it

Okay. First thing Inneed to know ia do you have any experience in the aqaurium hobby? Then we can gonfrom there. I can walk you through it
The only experience I have with aquariums is the fish I got from Walmart as a kid. I have no experience whatsoever.

Welcome to TONMO! I would suggest giving this forum (and the links within) a good read to get some basic knowledge on keeping an octopus.

- What is your budget for the project? This will help inform us of what products that might work for you.
- How much room do you have in your house/ how large of a tank do you want? Ideally something larger than 50 gallons would be preferable.
- Do you want any species in particular or just whatever is easiest to find?
- What is your timeframe like for the project? Starting a tank from scratch as a beginner, it might be worth your time to "practice" with a saltwater tank with some fish or other critters that are easier to take care of, before moving to a more complex and difficult to care for animal like the octopus

We'd like to keep this project on cheaper end
We don't have a specific time frame
We could do a 75 gallon tank easily
We prefer a species that is active during the day, has a decent size, and can take lids off of jars for crabs