• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

O. Briareus tank set-up/care recommendations?

kjarm

Hatchling
Registered
Hello,

I recently started a new job caring for some octopuses. I had some prior knowledge regarding octopus care/welfare (GPOs specifically) but this is my first time actually interacting with/caring for them. We have several tanks that are set up for O. bimaculoides (only one that is currently occupied), but are planning to get an O. briareus soon. I am looking for some advice on what we need to change about our current set up. We will be installing a 70-gallon tank for the briareus. Other than that, this is the basics of our current set-up:
- Eshopps R-100 Refugium Sump 3rd gen
- Vectra M2 Mobius Ready DC Return Pump (2000 GPH)
- Hydrofarm Active AQUA Water Chiller Cooling System, 1/10 HP
- Somatic 60S Space Saving Protein Skimmer
we also have UV filtration and the system is connected to a Neptune Aquacontroller Apex EnergyBar 4.

So there are a few things that I am particularly seeking advice on:
- The protein skimmer model we have says that it's rated up to 65 gallons for a medium stocked tank, up to 50 for well stocked, and 80 for light stocked. Should we switch to a protein skimmer that is meant for a larger tank size?
- From what I've read, ideal temperature for O. briareus in captivity is around 23-25 C. For our bimacs, we have the chillers set for 17-19 C and the room temperature is typically 20 C, so I don't think our current setup will work for that. Any recommendations for temperature control?

Our empty tanks are at a pH of 8.4 while the occupied one is at 8.3 with very little fluctuation. Ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates are consistently zero. We make our own DI/RO and saltwater, and for the saltwater our aim is a salinity of 33-34 ppt. Are these parameters adequate for the briareus?