• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

O. hummenlincki

Hello!
I am a husbandry intern at my local aquarium and I am conducting an investigation regarding the proper husbandry practices and enrichment training for O. hummenlincki or the Caribbean two spot. I am looking for any information on the natural history and practices that have been successful for the animal. If anyone has anything please share. There isn't much known about this species so I am looking for any help!
Thanks!

Hello!
It's nice to see another aquarist on the site. What kind of information are you looking for specifically? How do you currently keep your animal? Do you know any water quality specs off the top of your head?

I can give recommendations as to food and whatnot. Does your institution already have protocols in place for feeding and enrichment?

We haven't seen too many O. hummelincki (AKA O. filosus) in awhile. I hope your interest means the population has recovered from the earthquake and extreme cold in 2010. When searching for articles, include the name O. filosus. The official name has flip flopped numerous times so older articles may be under the alternate name.
In times past they were very common and available to hobbyists, sourcing from the FL keys and Haiti. I don't know if their disappearance from the Haitian market was directly related to a reduction in population or the reduction in the trade after the earthquake but since that time there have been fewer on the market sourced from anywhere.

Our journals are used more for recording personal experiences and are not scientific but here are a couple of more resent histories

ET (2018)
Penelope (2015)
Pablo (2014)

Hello!