• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

OCTOPUS: COMMON CAUSE OF DEATH

I've been keeping track of this with bimacs for a couple of years now. There's no one overriding cause. Some early deaths last year were vaguely due to human error (escape where the tank wasn't properly sealed, family member turning up the temperature on the heater, power stayed off during a weeks absence, etc.)

But this year we couldn't determine why some of them died. Reason unknown. There were several that survived a few months and then passed away.

I will continue to track this and hope that we gain some additional knowledge.

Nancy

owners mistakes is probably the commonist, but closely followed by shipping stress for some species

yeah, thank you. I figured someone more experienced than I on here would have been keeping trakcof this and they were. I am almost completely ready to go on my octo tank which with research and all is almost a year and a half in the making. So I am real edgy right now about actually getting the octo. I want to make his first two or so months as good as possible and am trying to gain common mistake info. thank you for the help and any other knowledge that would help me in this reguard that isn't regular octo care would be greatly aprecciated. thanks again,
Brett

My last octo (a pygmy digueti) only died when subjected to having crawled (still never did find out how...clever little bugger) out of his tank, across a 40 foot expanse of carpet, underneath the front door (tight squeeze, too) and almost all the way out the driveway to the street...he was quite old for a pygmy (almost a year) and full of beans...you have to admire his spunk, but it sure was depressing...

Not mixing your octo and checking it's pH and temp when it arives and just popping it into the tank.