• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Looking for bimac!!

91lxstang

GPO
Registered
Im new to the octopus world and i am trying to find a bimac online to buy and cant. Does anyone know where to get one? Also i have read that a 30 gal would be plenty for a bimac cause they do not get very big but i have a 55 gal that will be just for him/her... is that too much? also i have another question, my tank has over 100 pounds of live rock in it, about how much is good cause i dont want the octo to hide all the time so i want alittle bit more than minimal live rock for him to feel comfortable... the tank used to be a reef tank so thats why i have so much live rock... i cant wait to find one! also if u suggest any special equipment please tell me cause i work at a pet store and can get anything i want easily... my set up is an allglass 55 gal with a 48 inch compact flourescent with actinic and daylight bulbs, a seaclone 150 protein skimmer, rena xp2 filter, glass top custom rigged to cover all of the openings, 2 all glass 200 watt heaters. I can get anything else i would want... and does anyone suggest running a sump cause i may switch to a 90 gal with one overflow and run a sump for another octo that will be a larger species. money is not too musch of an issue cause i want my octo to have a good a comfortable home with no dangers and so on.... help would be very appreciated!!!! thanks alot everyone, i cant wait to have one for myself!

Unfortunately there are no bimacs available for the foreseeable future! A few years ago a number of online stores sold wild-caught bimacs. Then a company called Octopets came on the scene aquaculturing them and people stopped collecting wild ones. Octopets has since closed--that's why there aren't any available.

There's a lot of us that share your grief :wink:

Dan