• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Is my octo in senecence?

Please can somebody help me out,im new to having a "pet" octo and i have had her with no trouble for about 4 or 5 months,we played everyday,i give her live food to hunt, keep her tank perameters good and i can see no change in environment,except i put a sea apple in with her, she explored it when it went in and nothing between them since,both animals look healthy,but about a week ago,Octavia went into her cave, and wont come out again,not for food or playtime,as far as i can tell she hasn't been out in the night either,she is not eating even though ive tried tempting her with a plethora of live goodies,i occasionally get a tentacle wiggle from her,as far as i can see there are no marks on her, but i cant see into the cave to look for eggs and she wont come out,im just a little worried for her so any info and help would be appriciated as she was so active before i really hope i havn't done anything wrong.šŸ™

Sea apples are known to poison tanks but I don't know if that is only on their death.

The octo behavior is exactly like a brooding animal. The eggs are less likely to be fertile than if you had only had her 3 months but there is still a possibility of hatchlings. Do you know the species?

Sea apples are known to poison tanks but I don't know if that is only on their death.

The octo behavior is exactly like a brooding animal. The eggs are less likely to be fertile than if you had only had her 3 months but there is still a possibility of hatchlings. Do you know the species?