• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

GPO octopus raising for a movie in Korea (need info to do it properly)

Joumils

Hatchling
Registered
Hello everybody !
I am totally new at everything about octopus and even keeping fish and water animals.
I am going to direct a short movie here in South Korea. To make it short, for the story, a child will bring an octopus from restaurant tank to the sea side. It will be their road trip to the sea side before he freed the octopus in the sea water.
So I knew about this intelligent animal and I was really interested since long time. We are going to shoot the movie at the end of August.
I plan to have an octopus at beginning of July to know more about this animal and to do everything properly for the sake of the octopus during the shooting of this movie.
So I need to know how to make it perfect for the octopus to be good and in good health. In korea they sell 2 kinds of octopus, this one 문어 - 위키백과, 우리 모두의 백과사전 which seems to be the Giant Pacific octopus and this one 낙지 - 위키백과, 우리 모두의 백과사전 which seems to be the octopus minor.
We will do it I guess with the Giant Pacific Octopus, which is better to shoot image and more intelligent and less scared from what I heard.
It's really hard to get information here to breed one of those octopuses since those octopuses are usually in some tanks from restaurant or market where they await to be eaten. I heard that they live not more than one week in those kind of overnumbered octopuses tanks.
I went to some pet fish and aquarium shop without getting much more of good informations.