• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Dipping my toes in...

Jean_R

Pygmy Octopus
Registered
Hello

Like many others I have been prowling the site for a few months, but this is my first post. Love how my title is "Benthic Lurker", very accurate.

I live in the greater Boston area and am a scientist. I grew up in Southern Florida and have been keeping freshwater/reptiles/amphibians for many, many years. After a long hiatus due to career/marriage/kids I got back in 3 years ago with a saltwater/reef tank. Started with a 30 gallon and moved to a 90 gallon about a year ago. My current system is here:
IMG_1537.jpeg

It's a mixed reef with lots of new corals still growing out. Plenty of failures and lessons learned along the way but fortunately no big tank crashes. Have even had success keeping more challenging fish species (pipefish, mandarin/other dragonettes,etc...) long term by growing and feeding alternative food sources like hatching baby brine shrimp and culturing white worms.

I've been a long time member and frequent visitor to the New England Aquarium for about 8 years. With my wife and two young (5&9) children we go often in the evenings when the crowds die down. I spend a lot of time enjoying the octopus and cuttlefish tanks, and their nice reef tanks.