Some College Questions

xXSilviaXx

Hatchling
Registered
So I’m a senior in high school and I’m looking at colleges in my state, or at least the US, that have marine biology degrees. There’s plenty of options but I’d like to know if there was anywhere in the US where you can specialize in cephalopods? If not that then is there a way that I could either specialize or primarily work with cephalopods during or after college?

So I’m a senior in high school and I’m looking at colleges in my state, or at least the US, that have marine biology degrees. There’s plenty of options but I’d like to know if there was anywhere in the US where you can specialize in cephalopods? If not that then is there a way that I could either specialize or primarily work with cephalopods during or after college?
I took an undergraduate degree in zoology but now I am doing a PhD in a cephalopod focused subject; you don't have to start doing a marine biology degree to study cephalopods at a higher level. So I recommend you look into zoology degrees and ecology degrees as well because alot of the important skills (ecolgical theory, biodiversity knowledge, stats and the like) that being a marine biologist requires of you are also part of the toolbox for zoology and ecology degrees.

As to what University you should choose, I think you should go to the best university that has the degree you want to take and if you like the place that the University is in because after all the place is going to be your home for the next 3-4 years of your life. As to what you'll want to do after your college degree, you could always come to ALCES (Auckland lab for cephalopod ecology and systematics) in New Zealand, but I am being bit biased when I say that.