• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Pygmy Octopus Care?

missmaexox

Hatchling
Registered
Hey guys! I'm new here and I just found this site and joined today. Anyways, I was researching pet octopus and that's how I came across this site. I was wondering what type of octopus pygmy octopus are, or if thats actually the breed and not a nickname. I'm looking into buying one but I have a few questions first:

1) How big do they grow?
2) Does anyone know how big the tank should be?
3) What should I feed them, and where could I get it?
4) How much would the cost of their food, themself, and the tank be alltogether?
5) Does anyone here have a pygmy octopus?

And my last question is, my local pet stores don't SELL octopus, but would they probably let me order one (I'm going to ask them this later)?

Thanks! I'm really new to the whole octopus thing.

Hi and welcome to TONMO!

There are many kinds of pygmies and dwarf octopuses. If you live in the US the most likely pygmy you will come across is Octopus mercatoris. Most of your questions can be answered in the journals forum. There are a few members here keeping them, and they have very meticulous journals for their octopuses.

Check out Dwhatley and Gholland's threads in particular.
Varys' babies (O. mercatoris)
[Octopus Eggs]: - Trappers Grandchildren - Tank Bred Mercatoris
[Octopus Eggs]: - Trapper's Babies - Tank Raised Mercatoris
[Octopus]: - Varys, our brooding O. mercatoris

:welcome: to TONMO!