• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

phosphate proublems accoiated with net breeder and cuttlefish rearing

well i am having a serious proublem with phosphates in my 35 gal cuttle tank. Im showing .7 phosphates and i am having retarted corraline groth and expidited hair and brown slime algea groth. have any of the other cuttlebaby keeper had this proublem?

Have you thought about running Rowaphos or Phosban?

I have no experience with either, but apparently they are very popular products.

Dan

im using the kent phosphate sponge, but it doesnt seem to be working :frown:
I changed thier home from a netbreeder to a hardplastic kritter keeper in order to hopefuly lower the phosphates.

Is there a known connection between a net breeder and phosphates?

I would think a phosphate reactor would be more effective than one of those drop-in sponges. Do you use RO-DI water?

Dan

Do you have a reef tank with the cuttles in it? Phosphate test kits arent very accurate, I think they are within .3 , so in an sps reef tank - if you have a positive result (ie not zero) you have a problem.

With those phospahte removers - do they last forever or do they need replacing? I know that apparantly some nitrate removers take out phosphates too - and they pretty much last forever(if flushed out once a year or so).
How good's your skimmer? Most of the high phosphate problems come from not enough skimming, or overfeeding. Dirty rocks can be a problem too.
Is your system newly set up? If it is the rocks could be doing the shedding thing, and youll have to wait till their phosphate stores are emptied and the system stabilises.

I would imagine cuttle fish arent the most discerning choice for the phosphate concious. :biggrin2:

EDIT:, as Dan says above , tap water high in phosphates is another common cause of problems. Most town supplies would be high in Po4.