pH too high, nothing working

Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
90
the pH in my tank is at 8.8 and nothing seems to be working. ive done two water changes, tried Proper pH 8.2 several times and also something similar but a different brand. it wont budge! none of the chem. stuff is expired, nor is the pH powder. ive checked it with 3 test kits. ahh!
 

scolopes

Cuttlefish
Registered
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
17
I am also having this problem! I have a 120ish gallon system and my pH is about 6.6-6.8. I was told by the people we bought the system from to use "pH Down" but I'm wondering if there is a better way? (My Instant Ocean is measuring at a pH of about 6.6-6.8 so water change isnt going to help either...why is it so high???)
 

Thales

Colossal Squid
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Messages
3,019
What kinds of animals are in the tank and how are they doing?

Whatever you do, I would stop using anything to adjust the pH because they don't work in the long term. If you really have a pH problem, you need to find the cause and fix that.

O2 is often an issues with pH. Are your tanks closed or open?
 

scolopes

Cuttlefish
Registered
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
17
Norge: I hope you don't mind me participating in this thread with my pH problem. If you do, let me know.
I have 7 Euprymna Scolopes squid (one is pretty small, the rest are adults) and the system is about 130 gallons. Does low O2 make the pH higher?
 

DHyslop

Architeuthis
Registered
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
1,713
Not so much O2 but the minute amount of CO2 in the air. CO2 combines with water to form carbonic acid (this is why rainwater is naturally slightly acidic and why the great cathedrals are slowly melting). Adding a protein skimmer if you don't already have one will help gas exchange.

What do you have for plants in the tank? Plants consume CO2, so if you have a big hunk of chaeto you might consider removing it or switching it to a shorter photoperiod.

Dan
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
90
pH is still too high, there arent any plants, theres 1 damsel in it and 50lbs of live rock. i have a protien skimmer.. argh im going nuts. my teacher messed up the tank a while back by using baking soda (lowers pH in freshwater tanks) and someone suggested that it might have gotten into the live rock and is now leaching out. could that be the cause? if so, should i just get rid of all the rock and replace it? we did a 100% water change after the baking soda incident.
 

Thales

Colossal Squid
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Messages
3,019
What test kit are you using?
Most pH problems aren't really problems but poor testing.

Also, the most important thing, are you experiencing any problems with your livestock that lead you to believe you have a water quality issue?
 

Top