• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Octopus purchasing questions

mrk360

Hatchling
Registered
Hello all, I have recently decided a few weeks ago to enter the octopus world. I have been keeping saltwater fish for the last 6 years, so this is nothing far too out there for me. I have read almost all of the articles available in keeping these interesting animals, and feel that my tank is perfect now for an octopus. I have been looking all over for these animals, but have been having some difficulty. So I have a few questions, first off is buying an octopus online a risky business? Am I better off buying one in a lfs? Second, I have found two sites that say they currently have octopus in, one is aquacon, and the other is marine depot live. Have any of you had any experience with any of these sites? Is there any site out there that I have been missing out on that specializes in selling these animals? Thanks a ton!

How big is your tank? Octopus are quite different to keep than fish and even other marine inverts. You need super filtration and a minimum tank size of 50g for anything bigger than a dwarf. Octopus don't tolerate much less than perfect water conditions and eat a lot, (Be prepared to spend $$$$$$ on food) many won't touch dead food and FW feeder fish or shrimps are unsuitable.

Having said that, they're amazing animals to observe (especially if you can keep them IN the tank! duct tape is your friend!!!! cover all openings no matter how small).

But do spend some time reading the ceph care articles on this site, they are written by experienced octopus keepers and have a lot of valuable info.

:welcome:

Jean