Fossil identification

Liljeberg

Hatchling
Registered
Hi!

I'm a total amateur in the field of fossils and I'm pretty sure this isn't exactly the correct forum, but I thought I'd give it a shot anyway.

If found the following fossil in Brighton, UK last year. Can anyone tell me what it is?

fossil1.jpg

Thanks!

Christian Liljeberg

Hi Christian. Welcome to TONMO.

I think what you are looking at is some form of coral but I could not tell you which one, or an age for it I'm afraid.

The circular structure is an individual polyp. Around the mouth of the polyp in the centre of the circle shape there would have been dozens of tentacles pulling food into the mouth. Some corals are solitary, others group together in colonies such as with this very similar one in a pebble I found on Deal beach many years ago. Deal is also on the south coast of the UK; my fossil looks so much like yours I wonder if it is the same species and date?

Here's a nice little diagram showing the structure of a coral polyp for you:

http://www.rlcst.qc.ca/en/303_2.html

Cheers, Phil.

download.php

Thanks for the info Phil! You are right, your pebble looks very much like mine. I found another one too, with the fossil in a strange angle:

fossil2.jpg

I thought it might have been where a sea urchin had been attached, but your theory sounds much better. Speaking of urchins I found this pebble which I think might have been an urchin judging by the rows of dots, what do you think? It's only 1 cm across. (sorry, it's a bit dark.)

urchin.jpg