Arms and Brains

Ok I have a couple questions to ask, they may seem a little silly but......

I wonder, are octopus, squid and other celaphods etc ever left or right armed (handed)?

and also, i believe an octopuses brain is doughnut shaped with the stomach travelling through the 'O', for want of a better explanation.

So in theory does this mean that an octopus, if over fed could, could sit back an say "WOW THERE!!! too much food...I cant think!!!"??

So in theory does this mean that an octopus, if over fed could, could sit back an say "WOW THERE!!! too much food...I cant think!!!"??
ha! :lol:

Well, here's my train of thought, but I'm no expert... :roll:

Regarding an octopus being right or left "handed", I don't think it would apply... My theory (brace yourself) is that the way humans favor their right hand or left is closely related to balance. We stand upright, and have cumbersome bones attached to our muscles, and (of course) our muscles are moved to manipulate our bodies for movement. Because we're much more impacted by gravity than a free-floating, boneless octopus moving across the ocean floor (or floating in a water column), it would seem that we, as a species, are much more impacted by things like coordination than an octopus.

Have you ever seen an octopus move across an ocean floor? It's pretty graceful... doesn't look like one set of arms is more dominant than the other. Thay may or may not be related to the explanation I cobbled above, but in any event I would doubt they're lefties or righties.

With regard to eating, as I understand it, octopuses completely pulvarize and, in fact, liquify they're food before ingesting. Someone correct me if I'm wrong here, but I believe that while they gnash their food with their beaks, they're injecting some venemous substance(s) that further break the food down. As such, I don't believe they have a big ball of food sitting in their "stomach" as one might think. Completely different digestive process than we humans.