• Welcome to TONMO, the premier cephalopod interest community, and birthplace of #WorldOctopusDay and #CephalopodAwarenessDays. Founded in 2000, we are a large community of experts, hobbyists and enthusiasts, some of whom come together when we host our biennial conference. To join in on the fun, sign up. You can also become a Supporter for just $50/year to remove all ads and enjoy other perks. Follow us on Twitter for more cephy goodness.

were can i purchase a baby octopus???

nini

Wonderpus
Registered
i dont know much about octapuses, but i was wondering were i may be able to purchase, or order a baby octapus.
im looking for a smaller breed, and friendly aswell.i also would like a breed that lives for a long time.
soooo, baby octapus,a smaller breed,friendly,long life span.
please let me know were i can order or purchase one.
ps, the octapus needs to be small enough to live its life in a tank no bigger then 30 gallons.

i got crabs

GPO
Registered
hi nina, im fairly new to kepping octos but ill try to answer your questions the best i can. seems octopets.com is the best place to get a captive bred octo. they offer bimacs. the staff seems real nice but you have to have a lot of patience as there a small operation and will take a lot of waiting. most mom and pop type petstores will get u an octo but then u run into the problem i have of not knowing what species ect. as for the 30 gal tank most people would recomend a dwarf and as far as life span unfortunetly i believe dwarfs are only about 6 moths total or less and even the mid to large size octos are only 1- maybe 2 yrs. thats about the extent of what i know but alot of the other members on this site are much more knowledgeable and perhaps they can help.

a rabid squid

GPO
Registered
www.octopets.com
it might take a while to get an octopus right now. but the cuttlefish eggs should be hatching soon.

nini

Wonderpus
Registered
thanx, how much do the babys usually cost?