• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

New to cephs , tank set up questions

Jonny

Hatchling
Registered
Hello !

I’m setting up a new 30g cube tank so that I can keep a a dwarf species. I’m not new to the hobby , but I’m new to cephs so I have some questions that have been unclear in my research.

Is it ok to have mushroom corals in the tank?
If not what, if any, corals would be ok? I’ve read about soft corals, leathers and mushrooms being ok to keep with cephs.

I’m in no hurry to get the octo but I would like advice on a dealer that knows what they are selling and can ship perfectly if need be. I live in California in the north bay and the LFS can order one but its listed as a brown and that’s all.

How often and how big should the water changes be? I have a general idea but I’m aware that cephs are sensitive to water temps and conditions. Our city water is fine for freshwater aquariums I’ve maintained and I want to mix my own sea water at home instead of buying plastic bottles of instant ocean all the time. I would have more control over the water condition this way.

We are located very close to the Pacific Ocean and have numerous beaches with striped shore crabs available. I want to start a breeding project with these as a food source and I’m wondering if that will be ok for a ceph? Very little info online about them. Would a fiddler crab be more beneficial?

With a protein skimmer and a tightly sealed lid , will I need to add an air stone for oxygenating the surface? The filtration area along with skimmer will be uncovered. And the lid will be sealed and secured. Just reiterating :smile:

That’s it for now. Thanks for reading and thanks in advance for any helpful tips and knowledge bombs.

Jonny

@Jonny,
Below are my takes on your questions. Hopefully others will counter suggest or add to my answers.