My octopus stories (raising the deep-sea "bigeye")

adlysia

Pygmy Octopus
Registered
Dear cephalopod community,

This my first post but I've been lurking on this forum for awhile. My name is Adi Khen and I'm a PhD student at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD. I actually study coral reef ecology, but in my spare time I took up animal husbandry and have completely fallen in love with octopuses! I've been raising the deep sea species Octopus californicus-- commonly known as the "North Pacific Bigeye," collected from a trawl on one of our research vessels. Our octopuses are in chilled water on flow-thru (approx. 8 degrees Celsius) and are usually fed thawed fish. They're supposedly more social than other species and can live together (but, mind you, the tank is >100 gallons) and best of all are charismatic, clever, and just *so* cute. I've spent a lot of time with them, both observing them and interacting with them, and have written a couple stories about my experience which I wanted to share with you if that's okay!

Please see here: Raising an ‘Alien’ from Earth
And this was my original story: The Story of My Octopus

At this point I feel like I owe it to my 'pet' octopuses to promote public understanding and appreciation for these creatures <3 and I've received positive feedback so far but I'd love to hear any of your thoughts too, especially as experts/hobbyists! I'll try to keep you updated about our latest bunch; one of the larger females laid eggs about a month ago and although there's been no visible development yet, I'm thinking it might take much longer for this deep-sea species...

Oh, and I also make digital scientific illustrations! I've drawn this species, as well as a general diagram of octopus embryonic development and a tentacle-tribute which I'm attaching here in case you're interested :smile:

Thanks for reading,
Adi

Attachments

• Bigeye octopus_Drawing by Adi Khen.jpg
    Bigeye octopus_Drawing by Adi Khen.jpg
    359.1 KB · Views: 189