Hi! From NY/FL

abbaker21

Hatchling
Registered
Hello, my name is Xandra, and I live in NY/FL. I absolutely love octopuses, don't we all? I am thinking of getting a MS in Marine Biology and then specializing in teuthology. I have a BA, with absolutely NONE of the prereqs required, so I'd need to actually get a second Bachelor's in order to do this, sigh.

My question is, and I'll likely pose this on another part of the site, what are some of the actual jobs you can get if you want to study the behavior and lives of octopuses? Last time I got a degree, I was not prepared with this knowledge, and I want to be as prepared as possible, even though I have the passion this time.
Thank you all in advance!

Hello! Welcome to TONMO :octorun:

I do research on octopus behavior for my job so hopefully I will be able to help. Realistically, there are not a lot of opportunities to study octopus and their behavior. Your best bet would be to try and get your masters degree at an institution that already has a lab set up for studying Octopus, and make a connection with the PI who runs said lab to plan a rotation into their lab as you work on your degree.

Do you have any ideas about what labs you might be interested in working in already? How up-to-date are you on current papers that have been released in areas of octopus research you are interested in? Contacting those PI's who have been recently published, or doing research on their lab and institution would be the best way to see what opportunities might be available.