Try, Try again!!!

Hi George,

Was just reading through this thread again and thought I'd update you on Ollie and his shrimp hunting. (I believe Ollie is a bit older than Tralfaz.)

Ollie had a terrible time with shrimp at first, running at them head first and scaring them away. I originally put wild caught shrimp in his tank, and they were crafty and knew how to avoid him. He eventually began staying up all night to catch them, turning black and sneaking up on them. He was successful and ate them all. Unfortunately, he was very sleepy all day after that.

The shrimp that TONMO.com offers have never known a preditor, and are much easier to catch. Tralfaz may have some luck with them.

Ollie is now able to hunt and catch shrimp during the day, which makes us all happier. Tralfaz will get there, too!

Nancy

Wow

The post from TaningiaDanae about the the octopus "rejecting" the shrimp has me totally amazed :shock: I'm quite new to octopus, and I was just wondering what other "acts of intelligence" these octopuses will do. Do you guys have any other examples?

This really makes me want to get an octopus of my own!

sideways said:
Hmmmm...I wonder how hard (and expensive) it would actually be to get a childrens book published.

Not all that difficult -- it would involve printing out multiple copies of the text (and usually illustrations) for submission to prospective publishers. (Just about every children's book I've seen, except certain young-adult fiction, is illustrated.) It shouldn't be expensive at all, aside from the cost of paper, inkjets, envelopes, and stamps for mailing the whole thing out to one or more companies.

Publishing is only expensive if you opt for a "vanity" press -- i.e., one of those pay-it-yourself companies that will publish and distribute X copies of your book if you give them a zillion dollars up front. Most "vanity" presses are moneymaking operations (for themselves) and should be avoided at all costs.