Strange Species Washed Up On Shore

Keith

Vampyroteuthis
Registered
I had some pictures emailed to me from a guy named Peter Timpano. He would like some help identifying the animal. He has described it as a squid with octopus-like webbing. I'm no expert, so I thought i'd post the pictures and get everyones opinions. Enjoy.

100_2532.jpg

100_2533.jpg

100_2535.jpg

100_2534.jpg

100_2536.jpg

100_2537.jpg

100_2530.jpg

100_2531.jpg

It looks like a pelagic octopus to me, unless it has feeding tentacles. Maybe Tremoctopus? Do you know if it has fins, squid-type clubbed tentacles, or Vampyroteuthis filaments? It doesn't look plausiable as Vampyroteuthis from color and lack of cirri on the arms. Is the picture of the thing in the water maybe the "blanket" from a Tremoctopus? Also, where was this found?

edit: Nesis describes female Tremoctopus violaceus coloration as "Adult females dark blue-purple dorsally and light golden ventrally" which seems to match the pictures well.

compare to Tremoctopus

Upvote 0
I'll have to email Peter back and ask. I know he's on TONMO, but I don't know how often he gets on. How would you describe Vamp filiments? I'm not fimiliar with them. He did say that the arms were like a squids, but I don't know how he came to that conclusion. Whenever I can get ahold of him i'll give you guys an update.

Upvote 0
011607.jpg

Monty is (as usually almost always with only slight exceptions and then only on rare occasions) right: it is 100% sure a (spent?) female Tremoctopus, 95% sure Tremoctopus violaceus, please note two pores and a purple colouration dorsally, orange yellow ventrally, small eyes, slightly ventro-laterally positioned, the tell tale webbing and shedded "blanket", the tiger striping on arm pair 2.... It is fascinating how this species almost always is the one that pops up as "mystery species" or "unknown phylum", even :wink:

Where, indeed, were these pictures taken?

For comparison, please find Vampyroteuthis