• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Potential Metasepia set-up?

briareus

Cuttlefish
Registered
Hello cephalopod community, I'm new to the forum and just as new to any sense of reef keeping, which means I have zero experience in the maintenance of any saltwater set-ups at all.

I know it is a better idea to pick up some less demanding creature to at least get a feel of the hobby, but I really cannot afford to do this in any way. I am 16, and will have to pay out of this from my own pocket, as well as having to position the tank in the bedroom.

My current ideas are that I put the 30 gallon cuttle tank next to its 20 gallon sump, which is intended to contain a peacock mantis shrimp. I am clueless about where to place the skimmer, and I would like to grow plenty of macroalgae in the mantis' reside.

The following are my questions.

I am reading a book specifically written on the topic of reef chemistry and it seems like every chemical hangs in a balance related to another.

What are the specific parameters that are of actual importance to the maintenance of a flamboyant in a set-up with only live rock?

I am in a tropical country relatively close to the Lembeh straits. Cuttlefish will come by more naturally at a cheap price and with better health.

However, the consequent problem is that I have a room temperature that averages at 30 degrees celsius.

Has anyone got a affordable and relatively low maintenance idea to bring that temperature down to a good 25 celsius?

Above, I mentioned about a skimmer. It would be great if anyone could shed some light about the level of filtration needed, and how to do so with the use of live rock, macroalgae and similar ideas. It would once again have to be highly affordable and exact suggestions would be great.

Thank you.