New Octopus owner

Shea

Cuttlefish
Registered
Hello everyone I'm new to owning an octopus so naturally I have a few dumb questions. I bought a two spot octo yesterday from my LFS that they have had for nearly a month. When I got her into her new home, she hid for nearly three hours them came out to explore and get some krill from me. She hides at night and is active for the majority of the day. In the tank with her is three damsels that will hopefully become a snack. One of them is pretty good sized and I am kinda worried that it will beat up or scare my my octo. Has this happened to anyone or am I just paranoid? She is great she spends alot of time on the front glass of the tank staring at me. I swear she also likes looking at tv :smile:

monty

TONMO Supporter
Staff member
Registered
:welcome: to you and your octo.

That all sounds pretty normal, but the damsels should go ASAP. We've had a number of reports that damsels will harass octos, and can bite at their eyes and blind them. It's possible the octo could kill them, but it's very likely that they'll harm or stress the octo.

DWhatley

Kraken
Staff member
It has been awhile but several people have reported that it appeared their octos watched either TV or the computer. :biggrin2:

Remove the fish if you can, you are not being paranoid and they are likely to hassle the octo. Stress is a major negative and Damsels can be very agressive.

Shea

Cuttlefish
Registered
I will remove the damsels as soon as I can catch them. As for being a O. Hummelincki I'm not quite sure. When in her neutral color mode she is dark brown and her false eye spots are purple with a small blue ring in the center.

DWhatley

Kraken
Staff member