• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Most Dangerous Tank in America???

Danger Tank

Hatchling
Registered
Hello all. I am trying to build the most dangerous tank I possibly can. I've kept large reefs and now have a 120 gallon tank with multiple larger species of fish. I am trading all the fish I have in except my big boys, a black volitan lion, a red volitan lion, and a scorpionfish. The reason I spent all day trying to find this site is I am interested in adding a blue ring octupus to my system. While I have six years experience in the hobby I know nothing about octopi other than the blue ring is very dangerous. I am interested in any info I can receive about the specific question above plus any books or articles that contain good information about cephs. Thanks ahead of time for any help I will receive. Matthew :twisted:

First of all, Welcome to TONMO
You will have to be very carefull when keeping a blue-ring :!: , unlike lionfish whose toxins only cause severe pain (right?), a bite from a blue-ring could mean death. As blue-rigs are fairly small, it will be hard to find them in such a large tank. From what I watched from Built For The Kill on National Geographic, stonefish will try to eat a octopus. This could result in the death of either 1 or both :cry: . lionfish would probably try too (knowing their voracious appetites) which again would probably end in death.

Hi Matthew :welcome:,

Well, if that's your quest, then a blue ring would be wise decision... The wisdom of the quest itself I will reserve comment on! :smile: