• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Local sellers availability

Stavros

GPO
Registered
Hi,

My name’s Stavros and I’m an international undergraduate student in NY. I’m currently a researcher at a ceph lab in my college. I’m interested in investigating cognition in octopus and cuttlefish. For the octopus research, the lab had four bimacs to work with, however two died (after one year) and the other two do not seem to have much more time either as they stopped eating for a while now.

I am about to start my own research, however this won’t be possible due to the situation described. Therefore, I’m planning on buying with personal expenses 3-4 octopuses (not any specific species in particular) to work with. The problem with this is that I do not have enough money to pay for shipping and I could only get them locally. Can I ask you if you could refer me to any local cephalopod sellers? The animals will be bought strictly for educational/scientific purposes and proper documentation will be provided if needed.

I’d like to thank you in advance for your time,
Stavros

:welcome: to TONMO!

The people who come to mind as local are Carol and Robyn, but I don't know how close they are... are you in NYC?

I'm a bit confused about the shipping: the cost of shipping an octo (or buying one) is tiny compared to the cost of feeding it and maintaining the tank... is the school willing to pay for all that, but not shipping? That seems rather weird.

Hello Monty,

Nice to be here, I've spent hours in reading the posts for some time now.