Just starting out

Scrounger

Cuttlefish
Registered
Hi, I am just about to get my first ceph. I began reading posts on the site about several months ago, and was intrigued by the idea of keeping an octopus. I set up a 90 gallon tank 4 months ago, keeping a few fish, crabs, snails, a clam, etc. to allow the tank to mature.

I am now about ready to introduce an octopus. My LFS said that their supplier could get me a White Spotted Octopus, Zebra Octopus, or Common Octopus (Vulgaris). I have no prior experience with cephs, and not a great deal of saltwater experience. I could not find much info on which of these types might be a better choice. Any suggestions?

I plan on removing all creatures except the hermit crabs, emerald crabs, and snails from the tank before introducing the octopus. The only issue is a Bicolor Blenny that I'm not sure I will be able to catch. He's very timid and keeps mostly to crevices in the live rock. I was thinking I may just leave him, knowing that he will probably become octopus food before long. Due to his timid nature and small size, I don't think he should bother the octopus. Does this sound vaible?

So far, I have found this site and the forums to be an invaluable source of knowledge. I'm sure I will be relying heavily on them in the future.

:welcome: Well, White Spotted Octopus (Octopus macropus) gets about 3 feet long from arm tip to arm tip. Zebra octopus is not generally considered a good choice since we don't know their population status in the wild. O. vulgaris gets really big, so I don't think that would be a good choice for your 90 gallon. If you specify the type of octopus, can your supplier order it?

cthulhu77

TONMO Supporter
Registered
:welcome:

Why not get a ceph from another Tonmo member? Several of us breed different varieties of cephs.

Greg

Welcome to TONMO! I second what the others have already told you.