Jared's diving pics (octopus)

Jared

Cuttlefish
Registered
I recently got back from a month long research cruise north west of hawaii. Unfortunately, the research cruise had nothing to do with cephalopods. Fortunately, I got to spend ten days diving on Oahu before the cruise. On one of the dives someone found a tako (that's japanese for octopus and that's what they call them over there). We played with him for a while and I took some pictures. The tako wasn't too happy about being played with but was soon returned to his home unharmed. I botched the exposures a little bit but a few of the pictures came out alright.

Excellent Pictures!! That was one pissed off octopus!!!! You can even say you got inked!!!! :mrgreen:

I'm certified but haven't been in, in a long time. Really need to rethink this!!!

Carol

Jean said:
Great pics Jared :notworth:

What're you researching????????

J

I was an intern on a cruise so technically, I wasn't really researching. I was just helping someone else research. My main job was diving out in the middle of nowhere (near the surface in really really deep water) to collect Rhizosolenia mats. They're a colonial diatom that floats around out there looking like hairballs and vertically migrating.

I did get to see some squid out there but not while I was in the water. I saw some redish squid up at the surface while we were putting instruments over the side at night. I think they liked our bright deck lights. They were shaped kind of like Dosidicus (perhaps a bit narrower) but they seemed to have more intricate coloring than I've seen on the Dosidicus (in videos, I haven't been fortunate enough to see one of those guys in real life). They ranged in size from around a foot to somewhere around two or three feet. This was out near midway island. Anyone have any ideas on what squid these might have been?

corw314 said:
Excellent Pictures!! That was one pissed off octopus!!!! You can even say you got inked!!!! :mrgreen: