• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

HELP!! Octopus laid eggs!!

giar

Cuttlefish
Registered
Hello All,

I am fairly new to all of this so please bare with me if my terminology in incorrect. My Indo-Pacific Red Octopus just laid a bunch of egg sacs. What do I do?

Sincerely, Giar

Indo Pacific makes me think its an Abdopus.
... but red makes me think Macropus. Unfortunately, either way they would be small eggs (there may be a couple in the Macropus complex that are not but the comment was not clear on the specific species and for sure (ie thought to be).

That be said, the drill goes like this:

- IF the animal was captured not more than 4 months ago, the eggs may well be fertile. Watch for two black dot on the eggs in a week or two. The small eggs seem to hatch much more quickly than the large egg and can hatch in as little as two week (8-10 weeks seems to be normal for the larger egg species where 2-6 weeks is what we see for the small egg). Tank temperature has been shown to impact time of hatching.

- Unfortunately, if it is a small egg species, you are pretty much out of luck if you would like to try to raise a couple. Even the large, ocean water aquariums can't find the success key. The hatchlings live in the water column for roughly a month before they settle and become benthic. Getting them from palegic to benthic has proven painful (most studies are done on the Mediteranean vulgaris in hopes of raising them for food). Other members in you situation take the challenge of how many days can you keep them alive. One member reported 21 days and the next was around 11, most are 2-3.