hello from TX

Sarah

Hatchling
Registered
I have been looking around this sight of mucho info on ceph news, and have learned much. I found this sight because I was researching the obvious creatures...for projects. I am a Jeweler and I am simply amazed by the structure, form and beauty they exibit.
I was shocked, when I could not find much info on them in local librarys.
since then I found this sight and it has been most helpful.
At the moment I am designing a pendent, and I need to collect some pictures to base it off of. If anyone catches a snapshot of their pet that they think has the potential to hang around a neck I would love to see it.
My goal is to capture an image that is realistic to the Octo's behavior and natural movement. SO much that I see in the art and creative world represent them in an unothentic maner....only paying attention to the arms. They always seem so cartoon like. I need to be more educated on the physical structure.........like most art....in order to create a believeable image the artist must first understand the structure under the skin.
A hobby of mine is diving and I have yet to see one face to face...still hoping ......I doesn't help that I am in Texas miles and miles from the ocean. hee hee but i won't give up

thanks
look forward to future encounters

Hi and :welcome: to TONMO.com Sarah!!

Great to have you here, You could try looking at our image gallery for pictures that you like, or you can see the video gallery for octos crawling about. :smile:

Welcome to Tonmo!!
New images keep cropping up here all the time...glad you found us!
Greg

Hello Sarah,

:welcome:

For my money, the most evocative cephalopod sculptures originate in Japan as netsuke figurines. They have a flowing plasticity in their concentrated mass that's quite lovely. What are your materials of choice?

Yours truly,

Clem

Hi Sarah!

I'm from Austin, too!

But right now i'm going to school in Galveston to study marine biology.

Welcome to tonmo!