Hello, From The Great White North...Eh!

RPierce

Hatchling
Registered
Hello,
My name is Robert Pierce, I live on the east coast of Canada in New Brunswick. I am new to the Cephalopod World. I've been a Reef Keeper for about 2 years now, actually in process of expanding to a 60 Gallon. Wanted to trying keeping an Atlantic Pygmy Octopus, but literally got shamed by my group of reefer up here.
I am looking for a Excellent place to ask question and educate myself before I take the plunge. This place seems to be it.

:canada:

:cuttlehi: I like to suggest that all new keepers read through this set of prior posts in the Posts with info for New Octo keepers thread to kind of correct some of the information disseminated by hearsay. Do take to heart the link on species selection/availability as it is critical to understand that obtaining an octopus is not like buying other animals and most often, the vendor has no clue what species they have for sale. All the stickies in the Octopus Care forum are worth the read and the Articles section consolidates a lot of information in a direct source.

How big is your current tank and will you be keeping it running as you set up the 60? A 60 gallon tank will be too large to enjoy (and possibly feed) a dwarf (should you be able to obtain one, they are not as commonly found as the once were and living in Canada will make it harder to acquire). If you will only be keeping the 60 then a larger species would be more appropriate (be sure to read the Tankmates link). What you are most likely to find in a LFS will be an imported Indonesian octopus in the abdopus family. The basic care would be the same but this animal is more active, better suited to the larger tank and more likely to be available.

If some of the past comments you have received need clarifying, please feel free to ask about the value/validity, we do see a lot of disinformation and no question is considered odd or inappropriate to ask.