• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

Captive breeding of cephalopods

ivan09193

Hatchling
Registered
Hello all,

I'll start off by introducing myself, since I'm new to the forums. I'm a high school student in Virginia, and my current coursework includes a class related to oceanography and marine biology. As part of my own studies (tangentially related to the course) on cephalopods and their behavior, I came across your forum. Just to be clear, I'm not interested in raising cephalopod species at present, so my questions are mainly theoretical, rather than practical.

One particular question I have regard to cephalopods relates to cephalopod captive breeding programs. From what I understand, some members of this foum have successfully bred Sepia bandensis and some species of large-egged octopus. I have also read that there is a tendency for fertility and viability to be reduced in the F1 and F2 generations of captive bred cephalopods (Flamboyant keeping/breeding). I was wondering if any of the members of this forum have experienced such a phenomenon in their breeding efforts, and if there is any explanation for these occurrences.

Also, I am not entirely sure where most of the members of this forum acquire their cephalopods. Based upon an archived article (Cephalopod Care), I am led to believe that this community has experienced "cycles" in which captive cephalopods lived for a long period of time, followed by a period of reduced lifespan. Could this be due to an increase in the number of captive bred cephalopods in the community over time?

Thanks for your input.